Crossfit Workouts and the Ramblings of a Man seeking complete Sanctification. Romans 12:1 “I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable before God, which is our spiritual worship.”

The beginning

Recently I have been struggling with identity. Something that I have struggled with since the beginning of my life. Being adopted and the struggles of being raised away from home, at a boarding school, for the last four years of my teenage life, has brought many various issues into my life. Though God has healed many areas of my life and heart, sometimes I feel the pangs of old wounds. Now back to the present. I turned 30 this year and God has blessed me with many successes in my search for wholeness. I have been married for eight years and have three beautiful children. I will be graduating with a Master’s degree this year in Theological Studies. More importantly, I have been saved for 15 years. Yet even with these successes, I am still struggling with being fully whole.

One area which I was severely lacking is my health. My immune system isn’t the greatest due to Rheumatoid Arthritis so I battle with sickness. Just recently I had a battle with Lyme disease and Q fever both tick borne illnesses. Being overweight by 50 pounds didn’t help my recovery process, neither did it help my immune system. I realized I needed change. Yet I had tried to change before with limited success. (Though I had lost 15 pd. with mypersonalfitness.org)

I tried Weight Watchers, Insanity, couch to 5k and p90x. All of them were great programs but I struggled to make it work or be enjoyable. While watching ESPN one day I saw the Crossfit games. I was enthralled on the get go. However, I immediately dismissed it as another unachievable workout. Yet, I was intrigued and began to research. I saw the negative and the positive. What grabbed me was the personal approach of the workouts. The ability to use the exercises and work them into a routine that can be a ladder rather then a steep incline.

So I am now on that ladder to achieving the results of complete wholeness within my life. I am now on my second week of Crossfit and I am enjoying the challenge and flexibility. Though I don’t have a local gym I am researching several sites for information regarding WOD (workout of the day) and technique. Technique is very important to Crossfit so I hope to be going to a gym close by and receive some personal training. On this site I will be journaling my adventure and my personal WOD everyday that I train. I hope I can inspire and send some tips out to the global blogosphere. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

